Rightbraind Film Review: Star Wars:The Clone Wars…and other stuff…

So, I went to go see Star Wars: The Clone Wars on opening day. I really liked it, and thought it was chock full of fun. However, I didn’t come out of it like blown away or anything. I think that’s because I went into it with a mindset like it was going to be similar to the brilliant 2D-animated series by Genndy Tartakovsky, but in a 3D format. Boy, was I wrong! You see, I went to see it a second time about a couple of hours ago, and came out of it with a lot more enthusiasm! I looked passed a lot of the nitpicking that I get caught up in (because I’m an animation snob sometimes, mostly thanks to these guys), and really look at it from the main demographic that they’re targeting here (aka, the younger generation). Guess what? That said, I had so much more fun watching it, that I wanted to go straight over to Target and snag some CW action figs for myself (and some for my son too, of course). I didn’t though, due to budget reasons 😦 But I will soon enough. Anyway, I was already sold on the look and feel of everything Filoni was doing, especially with Ahsoka Tano, very strong character design there. I really dug her underhand fighting style and “go get ’em” attitude. Needless to say, I’m pretty pumped for the series on Cartoon Network! Heck, I think I may even get back to animatin’ my own Star Wars (fan) film which I’ve had on the backburner for quite a while now (that happens when you have a family).

Anyway, it was cool to be a part of this new SW project in one way or another by doing the Topps Clone Wars Sketch Cards. Which reminds me…I rec’d my return cards, which I’m posting again below, send me an email if anyone is interested in any one(s) in particular, because I’m going to post them on Ebay pretty soon. I also have some more Star Wars related news which I will release soon! Until then…

Leave a Reply

